Grant’s Tomb and Steven’s Circuit

Many thanks to Garret Lynch for providing this report.

Series leader, Katie Quinn (MIT), and eventual race leader, Mandy Marquardt (Penn State Lehigh Valley), lead the field in the Women's A/B race at Grant's Tomb. Photo Credit: Chatura Atapattu.


Grant’s TombSaturday ECCC racing made its annual return to New York City for the Grants Tomb Criterium.  Cold temperatures and blue skies greeted riders on the big wide fast course around Columbia University.  Racers from as far as Canada and the ACCC took part in the longest continued race in the ECCC.  The women’s A/B began slowly but a crash half way through, took down a third of the field, turned up the pace of racing.  Almost all riders return to the race, where track national champion Mandy Marquardt (Penn State-Lehigh Valley) won the bunch sprint.   Robin Carpenter (Swarthmore College) broke away from the field in early stages of the mens A race, later to be joined by Zachary Ulissi (MIT).  The two held off the field for the better part of the race, only to be joined by a small group with less than ten laps to go.  UVM and BU attempted to reel in the break, but their efforts were fruitless.  The breakaway held its hard-earned gap and   Carpenter easily sprinted to his second win of the young season.

Steven’s Circuit

Sunday temperatures warmed a bit for the brand new Ducks Country Circuit Race put on by Stevens Institute of Technology.  Two challenging narrow descents and a long false flat finish made for a testing course.  MIT continued their successful campaign as yellow jersey wearer Adam Bry lunged to the line ahead of Robert Burnett (Franklin and Marshall) and Edward Grystar (Brown University).  The tough uphill sections help shred the women’s A/B field, as half the field was pulled.  Lindsey Knast (Temple) came in alone for the win.

Last season UNH was voted the  ECCC Sandbaggers of the year and this year looks to be more of the same.  While the Wildcats weren’t able to make a big splash in any of the elite races, they were pretty successful in beating up on the Men’s B field (winning both Saturday and Sunday), Saturday’s Men’s C, and Saturday’s Women’s C.  There has already been plenty of grumbling, indicating UNH is well on its way to defending the Sandbagger of the year “award.”

Links to Photos!

Chatura Atapattu’s once again created an impressive photographic record of the race.   Check out: part 1 (MD & MC), part 2 (MC & W Intro), part 3 (MB), part 4 (WA/B) and part 5(MA).  Last year Chat was also selling his photos.  If you like what you  see, drop him a line.

The fabulous photos of can be found here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: