Nationals TTT: MIT women become National Champions, lead omnium going into Crit

USAC Media Press Release

MIT Women on there way to Stars and Stripes in the TTT

Marian Sweeps Division I while Mesa State and MIT win Division II Time Trial national titles


Waterloo, Wisc. (May 7, 2011) – For the second consecutive year, Marian University swept the Division I team time trials at the USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships at the Trek Bicycles World Headquarters in Waterloo, Wisc. The teams raced along a 19.2-mile course on a windy day with temperatures hovering around 60 degrees on the second of three days of competition.

Capitalizing on year-round team time trial practice, Marian University’s teams repeated the feat of sweeping the Division I event as the Knights won both the men’s and women’s race against the clock. In the Division II races, Mesa State College repeated as the men’s winners while the Massachusetts Institute of Technology handily won the women’s Division II contest.

After two of the three races of the USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships, Lees-McRae College (323) holds a six-point advantage over Marian University (317) in the Division I team omnium standings. Fort Lewis College (262) sits in third ahead of Stanford University (209) and University of California-Davis (180). In the Division II team omnium standings, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (300) has a 12-point lead on Mesa State College (288). Mars Hill College (262) is in third place while Duke University (147) and Whitman College (132) round out the top five.

Marian University’s men’s team posted the day’s best time of 37:51.87, nearly one minute faster than second-place Appalachian State University’s time of 38:47.46. Lees-McRae College (38:53.15) finished third ahead of Stanford University (39:09.43) and Fort Lewis College (39:24.55).

“I think the wind really helped us,” Alder Martz (Charlotte, N.C.) said. “We tried to keep it smooth and we were careful to keep it together right until the very end when we kind of ramped it up a little bit extra.”

Martz’s Marian teammates were: Adam Leibovitz (Indianapolis, Ind.), Weston Luzadder (Carmel, Ind.) and Jackie Simes (New Tripoli, Pa.).

In the women’s Division I race, Kaitlin Antonneau (Racine, Wisc.) and Jacqueline Kurth (Palm City, Fla.), both participants in USA Cycling’s National Development program, Allie Dragoo (Grand Rapids, Anna Young Mich.) and (Syracuse, N.Y.) powered the defending champion Marian to a time of 44:20.34. The University of California-Davis finished just over 30 seconds behind with a time of 44:51.98. Lees-McRae College (45:32.07) placed third ahead of the University of Wisconsin (46:14.34) and Fort Lewis College (46:25.10).

“We’ve been working together to achieve this all year, so it’s great to achieve what we came here to do,” said Kurth. “We’re confident (heading into the final day of competition tomorrow). Today was definitely a morale boost for our team – our women’s team and definitely our men’s team, too – so we’re excited about tomorrow.”

Using the same four riders as last season, Mesa State College defended its Division II men’s team time trial title with a time of 38:57.40. The team of Richard Geng (Grand Junction, Colo.), Conor Mullervy (Littleton, Colo.), Kevin Mullervy (Centennial, Colo.) and Patric Rostel (Grand Junction, Colo.), posted a time that would have placed fourth in the men’s Division I standings today. Western Washington University (39:16.86) edged Mars Hill College (39:17.88) by just more than one tick for second place. Duke University (39:53.62) and Cumberland College (41:13.14) round out the top five.

“We planned to go out hard, but with all the wind, we had to conserve more,” explained Conor Mullervy. “We were out to defend our title though, so we were pretty amped up. We were 20 seconds slower than last year, but with the wind I think we actually rode much better, definitely smoother.”

The Massachusetts Institute of Technology, under the tutelage of former Olympic cyclist and two-time national champion Nicole Freedman, continued its dominance of the women’s Division II field this weekend, posting the largest gap (3:35.45) between first and second place teams on the day with a time of 45:35.22. Three and a half minutes behind the Engineers, Whitman College posted a time of 49:10.67 for second place. Mesa State College (49:58.90) finished third ahead of Mars Hill College (51:01.24) and the United States Military Academy (55:49.78) rounded out the top five finishers. The MIT Engineers, who passed three teams, including a team that started six minutes ahead of it, posted a time that would have placed fourth in the women’s Division I race.

“There were a lot of crosswinds out there,” said Laura Ralston (Cambridge, Mass.). “We got here early and pre-rode part of the course and realized it was quite cross-windy, so we practiced a lot of echeloning and that really, really helped. Time trials can sometimes be a little hit or miss and you can go through scrappy phases, whereas today it felt like we were really composed and had a constant rhythm and pace the whole time.”

After finishing first, second, third and fifth in the women’s road race on Thursday, the same four girls contested the team time trial on Friday. Joining Ralston, who placed second in the road race on Thursday, on the MIT team were: the women’s Division II road race winner Martha Buckley (Cambridge, Mass), Yuri Matsumoto (Cambridge, Mass.) and the third-place finisher in the women’s road race, Katie Quinn (Cambridge, Mass.).

The third and final day of competition will take place Sunday with the criterium at University Research Park just west of the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, where the coveted team omnium titles will also be awarded.

* Tweet and follow the event on Twitter using the hashtag #collnats.

2011 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships

May 6-8

Madison, Wisc.

For complete results of the team time trial, click here. To view complete DI omnium results, click here and here for DII.

To view photos from the event, visit the USA Cycling photo gallery and to watch videos of the event visit USA Cycling’s YouTube page.

Division I Men’s Team Time Trial

1. Marian University 37:51.87

2. Appalachian State 38:47.46

3. Lees-McRae College 38:53.15

4. Stanford University 39:09.43

5. Fort Lewis College 39:24.55

DI Women’s Team Time Trial

1. Marian University 44:20.34

2. University of California-Davis 44:51.98

3. Lees-McRae College 45:32.07

4. University of Wisconsin 46:14.34

5. Fort Lewis College 46:25.10

DII Men’s Team Time Trial

1. Mesa State College 38:57.40

2. Western Washington University 39:16.86

3. Mars Hill College 39:17.88

4. Duke University 39:53.62

5. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 41:13.14

DII Women’s Team Time Trial

1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 45:35.22

2. Whitman College 49:10.67

3. Mesa State College 49:58.90

4. Mars Hill College 51:01.24

5.United States Military Academy 55:49.78

DI Team Omnium Results

1. Lees-McRae College 323

2. Marian University 317

3. Fort Lewis College 262

4. Stanford University 209

5. University of California-Davis 180

DII Team Omnium Results

1. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 300

2. Mesa State College 288

3. Mars Hill College 262

4. Duke University 147

5. Whitman College 132

For complete Individual Omnium results, click here.

Photos courtesy:Casey B. Gibson /


  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: